23 May, 2016

2016 Magalies Monster Wrap-Up!


Pieter Seyffert and Robyn De Groot’s FNB Magalies Monster victories at the ATKV in Buffelspoort on Saturday, 21 May 2016 did not come without its fair share of challenges.Seyffert completed the 70km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in an impressive time of 3:26:31.

“The route was very challenging,” says a delighted Seyffert. “I took it easy on the technical and flat sections, and pushed on the uphill’s. There were sections without single track that were really bumpy and rocky. I felt for the guys that were on hardtail mountain bikes today. The competition is getting stronger every year and it feels really good to still be able to walk away with a win.” Nico Sterk came in second, while Julius Cobbett finished third.

“The route was easier than what I remembered,” says De Groot. “There wasn’t as much climbing, but it was good. Amy had a great race and added some pressure in the beginning. I knew the route though, so I wasn’t stressed. It was nice and technical,” continues De Groot.

“The FNB Magalies Monster is a good race to win. I really think more professional mountain bikers should race this event.” De Groot’s 70km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic victory was secured in a well-deserved time of 3:38:37. Amy Beth McDougall came in second, while Theresa Ralph finished third.

One of the North West Province’s most revered mountain bike races, the FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic caters for mountain bikers of all fitness levels by offering a 15km, 35km and 70km route.

Brandon Van der Berg secured the top spot on the podium in the men’s 35km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic in a time of 01 hour 45 minutes 28 seconds.  Pieter du Toit came in second, while Brendan van Eeden finished third.

Danielle Strydom was the lady to beat in the women’s 35km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic crossing the finish line first in 02 hours 01 minutes 52 seconds.  Kristen Louw came in second, while Herne Visser finished third.

The 15km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic was the source of much excitement with Ian Els crossing the line first in the men’s race in 43 minutes 34 seconds.  Liam Mccoy came in second, while Bertie Anderson finished third.

In the women’s 15km FNB Magalies Monster MTB Classic Monique van Wyk was the first rider home in 49 minutes 47 seconds.  Jone van Eeden came in second, while Natalie Strydom finished third.