20 Oct, 2015

SA team for Tour of Rwanda announced


A green-and-gold, proudly South African team will do battle on the roads of Rwanda next month.

Set to take place from 15 to 22 November, the Tour of Rwanda has become one of Africa’s most successful road tours and it is now in its seventh year.

Organised by the Rwandan Cycling Federation (FERWACY), the tour consists of a prologue and seven stages and starts and finishes in Kigali.

The South African team chosen to compete in this tour includes Willie Smit, HB Kruger, James Tennant, Carl Bonthuis and Stefan Ihlenfeldt.

Cycling SA Road Commission Director, Bosseau Boshoff, says that a well-balanced team with youth and experience has been selected.

“HB Kruger is currently South Africa’s highest ranked rider on the UCI Africa Tour and will be out to extend his UCI points tally at the Tour of Rwanda. Willie Smit is carrying some great form at the moment and Carl Bonthuis has recently celebrated two back-to-back victories in his races,” a Cycling South Africa press release reads. “Together with James Tennant and Stefan Ihlenfeldt, the young climbers will be prepared to tackle the hilly course that awaits.”