29 Jul, 2015

Track team announcement for Junior World Champs - Astana

The Saryarka Velodrome in Astana, Kazakhstan, is constructed in the shape of a racer's helmet and not only houses a cycling track, but its 58 000 square meter surface area contains numerous other amenities.
Cycling South Africa (CSA) has announced the team that will represent South Africa at the 2015 UCI Junior Track Cycling World Championships in Astana, Kazakhstan from 19 to 23 August.

Joshua van Wyk, Sheldon Lahner, John Vlok, and Mitchell Sparrow (Team Pursuit Squad) have all be selected for the endurance events at this year’s World Championships.

The riders representing South Africa in the sprint events are Mitchell Sparrow, Alroy Palm, Bradley Gouveris, Wade Theunissen and Jennifer Abbot. The teams will be managed by Annerine Wenhold who is the head coach and team manager for this year’s championships. Annerine will be assisted by Martin van Wyk and Tim Abbot.

“We have a strong team pursuit squad for our men and we expect good times from the squad at the event. The team has set its sight on improving the current SA Junior Team Pursuit Record. The event to watch out for is the men’s 1000 metre Time Trial. Mitchell Sparrow set the fastest time in South Africa this year across all racing categories and we expect good results from him this year,” said assistant manager Martin van Wyk.
Kyle Deeley

Kyle Deeley

Editorial Assistant |